top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemerolynvillarealva

Virtual Assistant: My Journey

What is a virtual assistant?

According to https://bit.ly/31uLrfr, a virtual office assistant or VA, is a human who assists a person or company remotely with tasks. In the digital world, we can work for someone or for a company by just staying at home. It is a convenient opportunity especially for stay at home moms who have to take care of their kids.

But why have I been interested in this occupational set up?

I have been working since 2006, right after my graduation. It was a time where call center jobs are a trend. I was blessed to land a role in one of the upstart call center in the Philippines. The work is stressful and easy. You don't need to take home any kind of pending work and the pay is pretty decent. I've stayed in the industry for almost a decade until I was given an opportunity to work in Qatar as a nursery school teacher. I was working for almost 5 years in the same role when this pandemic happened. Suddenly, I found myself jobless. The only possible option is to work at home.

How will I start my work at home occupational set up?

This was my question. I tried searching online. I even tried for a virtual appointment setter but it didn't work for me. Maybe because half of the time I don't know what I'm doing. I wanted to have solid training for this new career I want to take. And then while I was scrolling on my facebook, I saw this post about FVA or FIlipino Virtual Assistant. I sent a message asking how I can start my career as a virtual assistant. And they replied immediately offering me to start with the freelancing course to start up my freelancing career. I was encouraged to enroll since there is a discount for early birds enrollment.

How was my training?

I thought it would be easy. How hard can it be? I will be learning at the comfort of my home. Well, honestly speaking it was hard. I'm used to a classroom set up. And lets say discipline is not my strong trait. It was hard for me to manage my time. Yes, with the quarantine and the current situation I have all the time that I needed but it was also a distraction. Because of too much time I tend to procrastinate. And because I'm just at home, I was distracted with facebook, netflix and other unnecessary things. But coach Grace is really helpful. I remember that, one of our assignment is to transcribe a video from the youtube of fva. I chose one video entitled 'The Courage to Stop' and it really helps me to be motivated and focus on what is important and the task at hand.

What's next in my journey as a virtual assistant?

I haven't yet finished my training but I am determined to complete my portfolios. I wanted to have hands on experience in this job and later I'm sure I'll have my first client. For now, I'm focused on learning all the things I need to be a virtual assistant with the help of my FVA family. And I'm encouraging all those clueless newbies who wanted to be a virtual assistant to approach and enroll in Filipino Virtual Assistant. I'm sure you'll not regret it because you will not just have a career but as well as a family.




4 views0 comments
bottom of page